Gold Cup 2019 Betting Tips, Previews & Results

When is the Cheltenham Gold Cup?

The Gold Cup is the blue riband event at Cheltenham, always taking place on the last day of the Festival and featuring some of the best horses around. This year’s Gold Cup takes place on Friday March 15 and is sure to be another great occasion.

How to Bet on Cheltenham Gold Cup

With a Sportsbook and an Exchange, Betfair offers punters the best array of betting options for this year’s Cheltenham Gold Cup. Betfair customers can use our Sportsbook for racing singles, multiples and each-way bets, while the Exchange allows punters to lay a selection or trade to make a profit regardless of the race result, as well as back a horse to be placed.

Cheltenham Gold Cup Winners from 1984 to 2018

2018Native River8Richard JohnsonColin Tizzard1507:02.30
2017Sizing John7Robbie PowerJessica Harrington (IRE)1306:36.1
2016Don Cossack9Bryan CooperGordon Elliott (IRE)906:35.0
2015Coneygree8Nico de BoinvilleMark Bradstock1606:42.5
2014Lord Windermere8Davy RussellJim Culloty (IRE)1306:43.9
2013Bobs Worth8Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson907:05.1
2012Synchronised9Tony McCoyJonjo O'Neill1406:36.2
2011Long Run6Mr Sam Waley-CohenNicky Henderson1306:29.7
2010Imperial Commander9Paddy BrennanNigel Twiston-Davies1106:43.9
2009Kauto Star9Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls1606:44.9
2008Denman8Sam ThomasPaul Nicholls1206:47.8
2007Kauto Star7Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls1506:40.5
2006War of Attrition7Conor O'DwyerMouse Morris (IRE)2206:31.7
2005Kicking King7Barry GeraghtyTom Taaffe (IRE)1506:42.9
2004Best Mate9Jim CullotyHenrietta Knight1006:42.6
2003Best Mate8Jim CullotyHenrietta Knight1506:39.1
2002Best Mate7Jim CullotyHenrietta Knight1806:50.1
2000Looks Like Trouble8Richard JohnsonNoel Chance1206:30.3
1999See More Business9Mick FitzgeraldPaul Nicholls1206:41.9
1998Cool Dawn10Andrew ThorntonRobert Alner1706:39.7
1997Mr Mulligan9Tony McCoyNoel Chance1406:35.5
1996Imperial Call7Conor O'DwyerFergie Sutherland (IRE)1006:42.3
1995Master Oats9Norman WilliamsonKim Bailey1506:55.9
1994The Fellow9Adam KondratFrançois Doumen (FRA)1506:40.7
1993Jodami8Mark DwyerPeter Beaumont1606:34.4
1992Cool Ground10Adrian MaguireToby Balding806:47.5
1991Garrison Savannah8Mark PitmanJenny Pitman1406:49.8
1990Norton's Coin9Graham McCourtSirrel Griffiths1206:30.9
1989Desert Orchid10Simon SherwoodDavid Elsworth1307:17.6
1988Charter Party10Richard DunwoodyDavid Nicholson1506:58.9
1987The Thinker9Ridley LambArthur Stephenson1206:56.1
1986Dawn Run†8Jonjo O'NeillPaddy Mullins (IRE)1106:35.0
1985Forgive 'n Forget8Mark DwyerJimmy FitzGerald1506:48.3
1984Burrough Hill Lad8Phil TuckJenny Pitman1206:41.4
1983Bregawn9Graham BradleyMichael W. Dickinson1106:57.6
1982Silver Buck10Robert EarnshawMichael Dickinson2207:11.3
1981Little Owl7Mr Jim WilsonPeter Easterby1507:09.9
1980Master Smudge [4]8Richard HoareArthur Barrow1407:14.2
1979Alverton9Jonjo O'NeillPeter Easterby1407:01.0
1978Midnight Court7John FrancomeFred Winter1006:57.3
1977Davy Lad7Dessie HughesMick O'Toole (IRE)1307:13.8
1976Royal Frolic7John BurkeFred Rimell1106:40.1
1975Ten Up8Tommy CarberryJim Dreaper (IRE)807:51.4
1974Captain Christy7Bobby BeasleyPat Taaffe (IRE)707:05.5
1973The Dikler10Ron BarryFulke Walwyn1206:37.2
1972Glencaraig Lady†8Frank BerryFrancis Flood (IRE)1207:17.8
1971L'Escargot8Tommy CarberryDan Moore (IRE)808:00.6
1970L'Escargot7Tommy CarberryDan Moore (IRE)1206:47.4
1969What A Myth12Paul KellewayRyan Price1107:30.8
1968Fort Leney10Pat TaaffeTom Dreaper (IRE)506:51.0
1967Woodland Venture7Terry BiddlecombeFred Rimell806:59.2
1966Arkle9Pat TaaffeTom Dreaper (IRE)506:54.2
1965Arkle8Pat TaaffeTom Dreaper (IRE)406:41.2
1964Arkle7Pat TaaffeTom Dreaper (IRE)406:45.6
1963Mill House6Willie RobinsonFulke Walwyn1207:08.4
1962Mandarin11Fred WinterFulke Walwyn1006:39.4
1961Saffron Tartan10Fred WinterDon Butchers906:49.8
1960Pas Seul7Bill ReesBob Turnell1107:00.0
1959Roddy Owen10Bobby BeasleyDanny Morgan (IRE)1107:28.4
1958Kerstin†8Stan HayhurstVerly Bewicke906:55.6
1957Linwell9Michael ScudamoreCharlie Mallon[3]1306:55.6
1956Limber Hill9Jimmy PowerBill Dutton1106:42.0
1955Gay Donald9Tony GranthamJim Ford906:59.2
1954Four Ten8Tommy CusackJohn Roberts907:12.2
1953Knock Hard9Tim MolonyVincent O'Brien (IRE)1206:28.4
1952Mont Tremblant6Dave DickFulke Walwyn1307:02.3
1951Silver Fame12Martin MolonyGeorge Beeby606:23.4
1950Cottage Rake11Aubrey BrabazonVincent O'Brien (IRE)607:00.6
1949Cottage Rake10Aubrey BrabazonVincent O'Brien (IRE)606:36.0
1948Cottage Rake9Aubrey BrabazonVincent O'Brien (IRE)1206:56.4
1947Fortina6Mr Richard BlackHector Christie1206:41.2
1946Prince Regent11Tim HydeTom Dreaper (IRE)606:47.6
1945Red Rower11Davy Jones2nd Lord Stalbridge1606:16.2
1942Medoc II8Frenchie NicholsonReg Hobbs1206:38.0
1941Poet Prince9Roger BurfordIvor Anthony1006:15.6
1940Roman Hackle7Evan WilliamsOwen Anthony706:46.4
1939Brendan's Cottage9George OwenGeorge Beeby507:34.2
1938Morse Code9Danny MorganIvor Anthony606:35.2
1936Golden Miller9Evan WilliamsOwen Anthony607:05.2
1935Golden Miller8Gerry WilsonBasil Briscoe506:30.0
1934Golden Miller7Gerry WilsonBasil Briscoe707:04.6
1933Golden Miller6Billy StottBasil Briscoe707:33.0
1932Golden Miller5Ted LeaderBasil Briscoe607:33.4
1930Easter Hero10Tommy CullinanJack Anthony407:06.0
1929Easter Hero9Dick ReesJack Anthony1006:57.0
1928Patron Saint5Dick ReesStanley Harrison707:29.6
1927Thrown In11Mr Hugh GrosvenorOwen Anthony807:28.0
1926Koko8Tim HameyAlfred Bickley807:11.0
1925Ballinode†9Ted LeaderFrank Morgan (IRE)407:29.6
1924Red Splash5Dick ReesFred Withington9-

Cheltenham Gold Cup 2019

The Cheltenham Gold Cup is the most prestigious prize in steeplechasing and the feature race of the Cheltenham Festival. This year, it takes place on Friday 15 March. Last year, it was won by Native River, ridden by jockey Richard Johnson.

We’ll have all the latest Cheltenham Gold Cup Tips and news right up to post time on this page.