Australian Open: Medvedev heads Betfair odds after government cancels Djokovic visa

  • Max Liu
  • 2:00 min read
Russian tennis player Daniil Medvedev
Medvedev is the new favourite to win the men's singles

Get the odds on the Australian Open men's singles as Russian becomes favourite following government's decision to cancel Novak Djokovic's visa. Max Liu has the latest...

Medvedev is 3.1511/5 while Djokovic has drifted to 3.55. Bets on Djokovic will be refunded if he does not take part in the tournament.

Danill Medvedev is the favourite to win the Australian Open men's singles title after the government again revoked defending champion Novak Djokovic's visa.

The Russian, who reached last year's final, is 3.1511/5 while Djokovic has drifted to 3.55 following this morning's development. Any bets on Djokovic will be refunded if he does not take part in the tournament which starts in Melbourne on Monday.

Australian immigration minister Alex Hawke used a personal power to cancel Djokovic's visa which could result in the world number one's deportation.

He'll be interviewed by immigration officials on Saturday and can appeal the decision to bar him from the country for his apparent reluctance to get vaccinated against Covid-19 .

'Novax' facing deportation

Djokovic could yet defend his title in Melbourne and some commentators have said that Australia's government, which faces a federal election this year, is posturing and will eventually allow him to play.

Even if he were to appeal successfully, however, the past 10 days have been far from ideal preparation for Djokovic who has won the Australian Open for the past three years and is targetting a record 10th title.

Our tennis betting ambassador Dan Weston, who will be recommending bets in the men's and women's draw on every day of the tournament, has written about how the Serbian's difficulties have opened up the competition.

Medvedev reached the final in Melbourne last year and won the US Open in September.

Alexander Zverev 5.14/1 comes next in the betting and after that it's a steep drop down to former-champion Rafael Nadal 11.521/2 who is rated the fourth most likely to triumph

Get a £5 Free Bet on Multiples - Every Day!

Place £20 worth of Multiples or Bet Builders over the course of a day, and, after the bets have settled, you'll get a free £5 bet to use on Multiples or Bet Builders. Bets must settle within 48 hours. No opt-in required, T&Cs apply.

Australian Open 2022: Australian Open Men's (Winner)

Show Hide

Monday 17 January, 12.00am

Market rules

Back Lay
Daniil Medvedev
Alexander Zverev
Rafael Nadal
Stefanos Tsitsipas
Matteo Berrettini
Jannik Sinner
Aslan Karatsev
Carlos Alcaraz
Andrey Rublev
Felix Auger Aliassime
Gael Monfils
Casper Ruud
Andy Murray
Denis Shapovalov
Hubert Hurkacz
Nick Kyrgios
Cameron Norrie
Alex De Minaur
Thanasi Kokkinakis
Roberto Bautista Agut
Grigor Dimitrov
Pablo Carreno Busta
Tommy Paul
Taylor Fritz
Lorenzo Sonego
Marin Cilic
Ugo Humbert
Christian Garin
Karen Khachanov
Daniel Evans
Nikoloz Basilashvili
Reilly Opelka
Marton Fucsovics
Brandon Nakashima
Botic Van de Zandschulp
Lloyd Harris
Ilya Ivashka
Hugo Gaston
Diego Schwartzman
Maxime Cressy
Lorenzo Musetti
Soonwoo Kwon
Tallon Griekspoor
Frances Tiafoe
Mikael Ymer
Sebastian Korda
Filip Krajinovic
Miomir Kecmanovic
Sam Querrey
Holger Rune
Philipp Kohlschreiber
Oscar Otte
Mackenzie McDonald
Corentin Moutet
Arthur Rinderknech
John Isner
Emil Ruusuvuori
Stefano Travaglia
Jan Lennard Struff
Kevin Anderson
David Goffin
Fabio Fognini
Lucas Pouille
Adrian Mannarino
Albert Ramos Vinolas
Alejandro Tabilo
Alexander Bublik
Alexei Popyrin
Andreas Seppi
Benoit Paire
Carlos Taberner
Dominik Koepfer
Dusan Lajovic
Egor Gerasimov
Gianluca Mager
Henri Laaksonen
Jiri Vesely
John Millman
Jordan Thompson
Marco Cecchinato
Roberto Carballes Baena
Federico Delbonis
Alejandro Davidovich Fokina
Benjamin Bonzi
Alex Molcan
Alex Bolt
Aleksandar Vukic
Stefan Kozlov
Christopher OConnell
Chun Hsin Tseng
Laslo Djere
Marcos Giron
Tomas Machac
Taro Daniel
Mikhail Kukushkin
Ernesto Escobedo
Maximilian Marterer
Radu Albot
Joao Sousa
Jiri Lehecka
Yannick Hanfmann
Marco Trungelliti
Timofey Skatov
Tomas Martin Etcheverry
Emilio Gomez
Tomas Barrios Vera
Nikola Milojevic
Salvatore Caruso
Liam Broady
Norbert Gombos
Daniel Altmaier
Denis Kudla
Facundo Bagnis
Federico Coria
Feliciano Lopez
James Duckworth
Jaume Munar
Juan Manuel Cerundolo
Kamil Majchrzak
Pablo Andujar
Pedro Martinez
Peter Gojowczyk
Ricardas Berankis
Richard Gasquet
Sebastian Baez
Steve Johnson
Thiago Monteiro
Yoshihito Nishioka

Bet slip


Get a Free £/€20 Exchange Bet

  • Join Now - Open account using promo code VAL225
  • Bet - Place a £/€20 Bet on the Exchange
  • Earn We'll Refund You £/€20 If the Bet Loses

T&Cs apply.

Discover the latest articles

Read past articles