10 Biggest Poker Tournament Wins Outside of the WSOP Main Event

Over the years, there have been hundreds of poker tournaments that have awarded first place prizes in excess of one million dollars. There have been dozens more than have seen the winner walk away with two million or more. 

The Betfair Poker Blog takes a look at the 10 biggest poker tournament wins outside of the World Series of Poker Main Event.

In this article, the Betfair Poker Blog takes a look at the 10 biggest poker tournament wins outside of the World Series of Poker Main Event. We were going to include the WSOP Main Event, but that would mean positions 2-9 would be taken up by its winners!

Please don't leave comments informing us that Sam Trickett isn't on the list despite winning over $10 million when he came second to Antionio Esfandiari in The Big One For One Drop because he didn't win, he came second and this article is for winners only. Kapeesh?

1.) Antonio Esfandiari - $18,346,673


Antonio "The Magician" Esfandiari won the largest -ever prize awarded in poker when he took down The Big One For One Drop at the 2012 WSOP. The tournament cost an eye-popping $1 million to enter, a fee that 48 players paid, including Esfandiari. 

Esfandiari defeated the United Kingdom's Sam Trickett heads-up to secure the monster-sized payday.

2.) Stanley Choi - $6,465,560

Stanley Choi.jpeg

You are forgiven for not knowing the name of Stanley Choi despite the fact he won almost $6.5 million from a single tournament, which incidentally is his only recorded cash!

Choi bought into the Macau High Stakes Challenge Super High Roller for the equivalent of $258,000 and although the poker community were placing bets on one of the game's superstars winning the event, it was the little-known Choi who walked away with a wheelbarrow full of cash.

3.) Anthony Gregg - $4,830,619

Anthony Gregg.jpg

Anthony Gregg has some remarkable results on his poker CV, although none of them come anywhere near the $4.830619 that he won in the summer of 2013. Gregg took on some of the best players in the world in the $111,111 One Drop High Roller at the 2013 WSOP and beat them all, running out a worthy winner. 

4.) Niklas Heinecker - $4,456,885

Niklas Heinecker.jpg

Macau created another multi-millionaire when Germany's Niklas Heinecker outlasted a field of 71 players in the HK$1,000,000 GuangDong Asia Millions. Heinecker, known as "ragen70" in online poker circles, was already a big winner in the largest cash games and is now up there with the biggest tournament winners after this huge score.

5.) Carlos Mortensen - $3,970,415

Carlos Mortensen.jpg

Carlos Mortensen scooped a first place prize of almost $4 million when he won the 2007 World Poker Tour World Championship event. The $3,970,415 that Mortensen won is the biggest prize ever awarded by the WPT and we do not see the figure being broken any time soon.

6.) Joe Bartholdi Jr. - $3,760,165


The name of Joe Bartholdi Jr. is another you may not be familiar with despite him winning over $3.7 million from one tournament, the 2006 WPT World Championship. According to various report, Bartholdi had to split his winnings 50/50 with his friend Joe Cassidy who had stakes him in the event.

7.) David Chiu - $3,389,140


Almost $3.4 million of David Chiu's $7.6 million winnings come from his victory in the 2008 WPT World Championship. Chiu's nominated for the 2013 Poker Hall of Fame, defeated "The Great Dane" Gus Hansen heads-up to secure the largest tournament payout of his long and illustrious career.

8.) Glen Chorny - $3,196,354


Canada's Glen Chorny shot to fame in 2008 when he won the European Poker Tour's Grand Final in Monte Carlo for almost $3.2 million. Since winning that astronomical sum, Chorny has all but disappeared from the live poker scene and has only won $101,000 since.

9.) Pieter De Korver - $3,024,167


Dutchman Pieter De Korver followed in Chorny's footsteps and won the 2009 EPT Grand Final, claiming the $3,024,167 first place prize as he did so. The win saw De Korver soar up the all-time money rankings in Holland and now only trails the legendary Marcel Luske on the leader board.

10.) Poorya Nazari - $3,000,000


Small buy-in, small buy-in, small buy-in, satellite win to 2009 PCA, bink the 2009 PCA for exactly $3 million, disappear from poker. That is the story of Poorya Nazari. What a life.

What lists would you like to see appear on the Betfair Poker Blog? Let us know in the comments box.

Join Betfair Poker Now

Get a Free £/€20 Exchange Bet

  • Join Now - Open account using promo code VAL225
  • Bet - Place a £/€20 Bet on the Exchange
  • Earn We'll Refund You £/€20 If the Bet Loses
Bet now

T&Cs apply.

Discover the latest articles

Read past articles