Miami Open 2019: Form guide for the Masters Series men's singles event in Florida

Miami Open 2019 ATP Tour
John Isner: The surprise champion in Miami 12 months ago
Join today View market

Andy Swales provides form stats for the forthcoming outdoor hard court event at the home of NFL franchise Miami Dolphins...

"Many believe Djokovic’s feud with out-going ATP Tour chief Chris Kermode proved to be a distraction for the world No 1 and ultimately caused his downfall in California."

From Indian Wells to Miami, the ATP Tour heads east for its second straight Masters Series event in the United States.

Part two of the prestigious Sunshine Double takes place in Florida but, after 32 years at Crandon Park in Key Biscayne, the tournament moves to a new venue.

Hard Rock Stadium, home of the Miami Dolphins, will now stage a leading tennis tournament, with the men's singles competition starting on Wednesday.

Surprise Winner

Twelve months ago, John Isner was crowned the most unlikely of champions.

Seeded No 14, the big-serving American collected the most important title of his career and arguably created the biggest shock at this event for over 30 years.

In 2019, top seed Novak Djokovic will be chasing a seventh Miami title but his hopes of securing a fifth Sunshine Double were crushed last week when he was sensationally beaten by world No 39 Philipp Kohlschreiber.

The 35-year-old German had lost eight of his nine previous meeting with Djokovic but needed just two sets to send the Serbian packing in round three (last 32).

Many believe Djokovic's feud with out-going ATP Tour chief Chris Kermode proved to be a distraction for the world No 1 and ultimately caused his downfall in California.

Assuming he is truly focussed in Miami, who is likely to be Djokovic's main rivals these next two weeks?

Roger Federer: Is a three-time winner in Miami and arrives from Indian Wells where he reached the final, only to lose 3-6 6-3 7-5 to Dominic Thiem. The 37-year-old converted just two of 11 break points during the match, and made 32 unforced errors compared to Thiem's 25. Had been hoping to travel to Miami in search of a first Sunshine Double since 2006.

Karen Khachanov: His battling defeat by Nadal at the quarter-final stage in Indian Wells - where he lost following a brace of tie-break sets - shows that the 22-year-old from Moscow is probably destined for greatness.

Milos Raonic: Went into Indian Wells a little under the radar but as some big names fell by the wayside - on his half of the draw - the Canadian quietly made it through to the semi-finals before losing in three sets to the eventual champion. The 28-year-old is yet to win a tournament at this level, having lost three Masters Series finals, as well as Wimbledon in 2016.

Dominic Thiem: Despite being world No 8 going into the first Masters Series event of 2019, he wasn't expected to triumph in California. It was his maiden title at this level and the win takes him to No 4 in the World Ranking. He said afterwards: "It feels just unreal what happened these last 10 days." The omens look good for the Austrian as he moves closer to his beloved clay. The European clay court season begins in early April and in 2018 he reached the final of the French Open.

Check out the latest prices for the Miami Open.

Click the link below to view 10 years of form in Miami

Men's Miami Form 2009-2018 (PDF)

Key To Table: Aus (Australian Open); Sha (Shanghai); USO (US Open); Cin (Cincinnati); Can (Canada); Mia (Miami); IW (Indian Wells)

Last 10 hard court events at Grand Slam & Masters Series level for selected players


  • 1–5
  • 6–15
  • 16–25
Player 19-IW 19-Aus 18-Sha 18-USO 18-Cin 18-Can 18-Mia 18-IW 18-Aus 17-Sha
Novak Djokovic Rd-3 Won Won Won Won Rd-3 Rd-2 Rd-2 Rd-4
Alexander Zverev Rd-3 Rd-4 SF Rd-3 Rd-2 QF RU Rd-2 Rd-3 Rd-3
Roger Federer RU Rd-4 SF Rd-4 RU Rd-2 RU Won Won
Juan Martin del Potro Rd-3 RU QF SF Won Rd-3 SF
Kevin Anderson Rd-2 QF Rd-4 Rd-3 SF QF QF Rd-1 Rd-2
Kei Nishikori Rd-3 QF QF SF Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-3
Dominic Thiem Won Rd-2 Rd-2 QF Rd-2 Rd-3 Rd-4 Rd-2
John Isner Rd-4 Rd-1 QF Rd-1 Rd-3 Won Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-3
Stefanos Tsitsipas Rd-2 SF Rd-3 Rd-2 Rd-1 RU Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-2
Marin Cilic Rd-3 Rd-4 Rd-2 QF SF QF Rd-4 Rd-3 RU SF
Borna Coric Rd-2 Rd-4 RU Rd-4 Rd-2 Rd-2 QF SF Rd-1
Karen Khachanov QF Rd-3 Rd-2 Rd-3 Rd-3 SF Rd-3 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-1
Milos Raonic SF QF Rd-1 Rd-4 QF Rd-2 QF SF Rd-1
Daniil Medvedev Rd-3 Rd-4 Rd-2 Rd-3 Rd-1 Rd-3 Rd-2 Rd-3 Rd-2 Rd-1
Marco Cecchinato Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-3 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-1
Fabio Fognini Rd-2 Rd-3 Rd-2 Rd-2 Rd-3 Rd-2 Rd-4 Rd-3
Nikoloz Basilashvili Rd-2 Rd-3 Rd-2 Rd-4 Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-3 Rd-1
Gael Monfils QF Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-3 Rd-2
Pablo Carreno Busta Rd-4 Rd-1 Rd-2 QF Rd-2 SF Rd-4 Rd-4 Rd-2
David Goffin Rd-2 Rd-3 Rd-4 SF Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-2 Rd-2
Roberto Bautista Agut Rd-2 QF Rd-3 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-3 Rd-1 Rd-1
Kyle Edmund Rd-4 Rd-1 QF Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-2 SF Rd-2
Alex de Minaur Rd-2 Rd-3 Rd-3 Rd-3 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-1
Denis Shapovalov Rd-4 Rd-3 Rd-1 Rd-3 Rd-3 Rd-3 Rd-4 Rd-2 Rd-2 Rd-1
Diego Schwartzman Rd-3 Rd-3 Rd-1 Rd-3 Rd-1 Rd-3 Rd-3 Rd-2 Rd-4 Rd-2
Richard Gasquet Rd-2 Rd-3 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-3 QF
Grigor Dimitrov Rd-4 Rd-1 Rd-3 QF Rd-3 Rd-2 QF QF
Gilles Simon Rd-3 Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-3
Lucas Pouille Rd-2 SF Rd-3 Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-2
Marton Fucsovics Rd-2 Rd-2 Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-3 Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-4
Laslo Djere Rd-3 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-1
Nick Kyrgios Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-3 Rd-3 Rd-1 Rd-4 Rd-4 Rd-1
Guido Pella Rd-3 Rd-1 Rd-3 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-1
Frances Tiafoe Rd-1 QF Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-3 Rd-4 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-2
Fernando Verdasco Rd-3 Rd-3 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-4 Rd-3 Rd-2 Rd-1
Jeremy Chardy Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-2 Rd-2 Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-4 Rd-4 Rd-1 Rd-1
Steve Johnson Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-3 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-3
Philipp Kohlschreiber Rd-4 Rd-2 Rd-4 Rd-1 QF Rd-1
Stan Wawrinka Rd-3 Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-3 QF Rd-3 Rd-2
Joao Sousa Rd-1 Rd-3 Rd-4 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-4 Rd-3 Rd-2 Rd-1
John Millman Rd-1 Rd-2 QF Rd-2 Rd-2
Mikhail Kukushkin Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-3 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-1
Pierre-Hugues Herbert Rd-1 Rd-3 Rd-2 Rd-2 Rd-2 Rd-4 Rd-1
Dusan Lajovic Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-3 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-1
Taylor Fritz Rd-1 Rd-3 Rd-2 Rd-3 Rd-1 Rd-4
Andreas Seppi Rd-1 Rd-3 Rd-2 Rd-2 Rd-4
Cameron Norrie Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-1
Matthew Ebden Rd-1 Rd-2 QF Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-2
Martin Klizan Rd-2 Rd-1
Sam Querrey Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-3 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-2 Rd-3 QF Rd-2 Rd-3
Adrian Mannarino Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-3 Rd-3 Rd-1
Hubert Hurkacz QF Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-1
Miomir Kecmanovic QF Rd-1 Rd-1
Yoshihito Nishioka Rd-4 Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-2
Filip Krajinovic Rd-4 Rd-3 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-4 Rd-3
Radu Albot Rd-3 Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-1
Damir Dzumhur Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-2 Rd-3 Rd-1
Jan-Lennard Struff Rd-4 Rd-1 Rd-3 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-3
Leonardo Mayer Rd-2 Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-3 Rd-2 Rd-4 Rd-2
Matteo Berrettini Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-1
Felix Auger-Aliassime Rd-3 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-2
Reilly Opelka Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-1
Malek Jaziri Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-2
Jaume Munar Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-1
Mackenzie McDonald Rd-2 Rd-2 Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-2
Hyeon Chung Rd-2 Rd-2 Rd-2 Rd-2 QF QF SF Rd-2
Juan Ignacio Londero
Denis Kudla Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-2
Ugo Humbert Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-2
Robin Haase Rd-2 Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-3 QF Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-1
Benoit Paire Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-2 Rd-2 Rd-2 Rd-3 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-1
Aljaz Bedene Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-1 Rd-2
Taro Daniel Rd-1 Rd-2 Rd-1 Rd-3 Rd-1
Christian Garin Rd-1
Pablo Cuevas Rd-2 Rd-4 Rd-2 Rd-1
Join today View market

Discover the latest articles

Read past articles