Golf Betting: Fantastic June coming into view as the sport prepares for return

Golfer C.T Pan
C.T Pan after his win at Harbour Town last year
Join today
View market
View the Betslip

In less than two weeks we will be able to enjoy top-level golf on the PGA Tour and Steve Rawlings is raring to go!

"I’ll be back with a full preview in plenty of time before the off but the Sportsbook already has an outright market and with the world’s top five players in the line-up, it’s a great tournament to kick us back off with."

Nothing feels particularly normal anymore, not even the so-called new normal, but nevertheless, horse racing (and pigeon racing!) has returned to the UK this week and although we have to wait a couple of weeks for the Premier League to restart - albeit at empty and occasionally neutral stadiums - and until as late as mid-July for European Tour golf action (the British Masters - July 22-25), the resumption of the PGA Tour is now tantalisingly close.

The action starts on Thursday June 11 with the eagerly awaited Charles Schwab Challenge, an event formally known as the Fort Worth Invitational, the Dean & Deluca, and most recognisably, the Crowne Plaza Invitational. Played at the intricate Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, which is often referred to as 'Hogan's Alley' after the five-time course winner, Ben, the Charles Schwab Challenge is the longest running non-major PGA Tour event held at the same site.

I'll be back with a full preview in plenty of time before the off but the Sportsbook already has an outright market and with the world's top five players in the line-up, it's a great tournament for golf's real comeback event.

Kevin Na won the tournament last year and the list of recent winners includes major winners including Justin Rose, Jordan Spieth, Adam Scott, Zach Johnson and David Toms. And it's now 12 years since five-time major winner, Phil Mickelson, made this incredible birdie at the 72nd hole to take the title.

The PGA Tour moves from Texas to South Carolina the following week to take in the RBC Heritage - a longstanding event that traditionally follows the US Masters.

Staged at the Pete Dye-designed gem known as Harbour Town Links in Hilton Head, the RBC has produced a hat-trick of surprise winners of late. CT Pan was matched at [510.0] before the off last year, 12 months after [500.0] chance, Satoshi Kodaira won, and two years after [200.0] shot, Wesley Bryan, had claimed the spoils in 2017.

Despite recent results, course form holds up well at Harbour Town and we've witnessed a number of men win the title on multiple occasions. Jim Furyk won the event in 2010 and 2015, Boo Weekley won back-to-back in 2007 and 2008 and Stewart Cink has also taken the title twice this century. And Davis Love has won it five times but despite contending year after year, poor ole Luke Donald has never donned the Plaid Jacket awarded to the winner.

Luke's finished second five times in total - once losing a playoff to Brandt Snedeker (2011) and once being cruelly denied by this outrageous shot by the 2014 champ - Matt Kuchar.

The third and final event in June will be the Travelers Championship at TPC River highlands - an event that tends to serve up much drama - including this incredible holed bunker shot by Jordan Spieth to deny Daniel Berger in extra time three years ago.

When the Tour resumes a week on Thursday it will be exactly 13 weeks since we last saw any action (the first round of the cancelled Players Championship) and although I've quite enjoyed the little break, I'm chomping at the bit to get back now. Having three great tournaments to kick us off is the icing on the cake.

*You can follow me on Twitter @SteveThePunter

US Masters 2020: US Masters 2020 (Winner)

Show Hide

Thursday 12 November, 11.00am

Market rules

Back Lay
Rory McIlroy
Bryson DeChambeau
Tiger Woods
Jon Rahm
Dustin Johnson
Brooks Koepka
Justin Thomas
Xander Schauffele
Jordan Spieth
Patrick Cantlay
Justin Rose
Hideki Matsuyama
Webb Simpson
Tommy Fleetwood
Patrick Reed
Adam Scott
Rickie Fowler
Tony Finau
Bubba Watson
Paul Casey
Marc Leishman
Jason Day
Tyrrell Hatton
Collin Morikawa
Phil Mickelson
Sung Jae Im
Viktor Hovland
Matt Kuchar
Shane Lowry
Gary Woodland
Sergio Garcia
Matthew Fitzpatrick
Louis Oosthuizen
Abraham Ancer
Francesco Molinari
Henrik Stenson
Lee Westwood
Danny Willett
Cameron Smith
Matthew Wolff
Charl Schwartzel
Joaquin Niemann
Kevin Kisner
Cameron Champ
Brendon Todd
Erik Van Rooyen
Ian Poulter
Bernd Wiesberger
Brandt Snedeker
Justin Harding
Alex Noren
Si Woo Kim
Hao Tong Li
Graeme McDowell
Branden Grace
Rafa Cabrera Bello
Max Homa
Corey Conners
Scottie Scheffler
Matt Wallace
Robert MacIntyre
Aaron Wise
Christiaan Bezuidenhout
Eddie Pepperell
Kevin Na
Jason Kokrak
J.B. Holmes
Victor Perez
Charley Hoffman
Charles Howell
Zach Johnson
Billy Horschel
Dylan Fritelli
Adam Hadwin
Sebastian Munoz
Chez Reavie
Andrew Putnam
Lucas Glover
Jazz Janewattananond
Keith Mitchell
JT Poston
Jimmy Walker
Kiradech Aphibarnrat
Martin Kaymer
Nick Taylor
Keegan Bradley
Lucas Bjerregaard
Cheng Tsung Pan
Lanton Griffin
Kang Sung Hoon
Thorbjorn Olesen
Bernhard Langer
Emiliano Grillo
Padraig Harrington
Kyle Stanley
Patton Kizzire
Andrew Landry
Fred Couples
Vijay Singh
Angel Cabrera
Ian Woosnam
Jose Maria Olazabal
Mike Weir
Sandy Lyle
Trevor Immelman
Tyler Duncan
Nate Lashley
Shugo Imahira

Bet slip


Steven Rawlings,

Discover the latest articles

Read past articles