Kenya Open 2019: Current form stats for this week's event on the European Tour

Erik Van Rooyen
Erik Van Rooyen: Tied-second in Qatar on Sunday

Before placing your bets for the Kenya Open check out our current form stats for the tournament at Karen Country Club, compiled by Andy Swales...

"Some of those who posted top-10 finishes in Qatar on Sunday have made the journey, including a quartet of South Africans. Doha champion Justin Harding leads the way and is joined by compatriots Erik Van Rooyen, George Coetzee and Christiaan Bezuidenhout who all tied for second over the weekend."

The European Tour breaks new ground this week, with a first-ever trip to Kenya.

Although the Kenya Open has been part of the Challenge Tour since the mid-1990s, this will be the first time that the competition has been awarded a spot on the main schedule.

As for Karen Country Club, this parkland course can be found around 10 miles south-west of the country's capital Nairobi.

During the past decade it has staged the national open four times (2013-16), and a number of those teeing-up on Thursday competed here during that period.

Designed by Remy Martin and opened 82 years ago, Karen Country Club is tree-lined and undulating, with smallish greens, while water hazards are few and far between.

A large part of the course was built on a former coffee estate, and is a throwback to Kenya's colonial past.

South African Presence

Needless to say, with the Players Championship taking place in Florida this week, the field in Kenya is breathtakingly below par.

Some of those who posted top-10 finishes in Qatar on Sunday have made the journey, including a quartet of South Africans.

Doha champion Justin Harding leads the way and is joined by compatriots Erik Van Rooyen, George Coetzee and Christiaan Bezuidenhout who all tied for second over the weekend.

Van Rooyen posted a top-25 finish at Karen Country Club when playing here on the Challenge Tour three years ago.

And another South African, Haydn Porteous, won at the course in 2015 - check out our course form stats which highlight T-25s (2013-16) for those taking part this week.

Regarding course form, Germany's world No 842 Bernd Ritthammer posted three top-10s at Karen during these Challenge Tour years.

The Kenya Open champion from 2016, Swede Sebastian Soderberg, returns to the venue on the back of two top-25 finishes at Oman and Qatar these past two weeks.

Elsewhere, Ross McGowan heads north after finishing fourth at the Limpopo Championship over the weekend, which forms part of South Africa's Sunshine Tour. The Englishman won on the European Tour, in Madrid, as long ago as 2009.

Notable Starters

In a field lacking top tier talent, four of the highest ranked golfers taking part are American John Catlin, Indian duo Shubhankar Sharma and Gaganjeet Bhullar, and Scott Vincent of Zimbabwe.

These four are ranked 126, 117, 142 and 160 respectively. Bhullar won on the European Tour last year, while Catlin triumphed three times in Asia during 2018.

The up-and-coming Sharma has already won twice on the European Tour - in South Africa and Malaysia - while Vincent was fourth in Perth last month.

Take a look at the odds for outright victory in Kenya this week.

Twitter: Andy Swales@GolfStatsAlive

MC* - Missed Additional 54-Hole Cut

Note: List contains leading reserves


  • 1–5
  • 6–15
  • 16–25
Player W10 W9 W8 W7 W6 W5 W4 W3 W2 W1
Justin Harding 1 MC 26 4 11 7 51
Shubhankar Sharma 67 60 MC 29 MC
John Catlin 6 58 MC 44 67
Gaganjeet Bhullar 31 27 34 38 27
Adri Arnaus 14 45 MC 29 22
Scott Vincent 63 4 MC* 24
Erik Van Rooyen 2 36 MC MC 32
Seung-Su Han MC 38
Oliver Wilson 2 56 MC MC
Romain Langasque MC 45 44 20
Sean Crocker MC 18 MC MC MC
Ho Sung Choi MC 12
Masahiro Kawamura 20 56 MC MC* 12
Kim Koivu 62 MC MC MC* MC 38 MC
Jack Singh Brar MC MC MC 32
George Coetzee 2 MC 56 MC MC 38 MC
Clement Sordet MC 2 17 8 61
Robert MacIntyre 31 45 20 MC* 44 63
Louis De Jager 42 23 MC MC* 1
Liam Johnston 38 MC MC MC 30 MC
Kalle Samooja 48 MC MC 16 MC
Johannes Veerman MC MC 4 24 2
Renato Paratore MC MC 18 MC 54
Sebastian Soderberg 20 21 MC MC MC MC
Haydn Porteous MC Wd 51 48 MC
Stuart Manley 62 Dq MC MC* 64 MC
Khalin H Joshi MC MC
Hyo Won Park MC MC MC MC MC MC
Oscar Lengden
Niklas Lemke MC MC MC MC 30
Steven Brown MC MC MC MC MC
Jeff Winther 14 12 8 MC
Lorenzo Gagli MC MC 44
Connor Syme MC 15 MC*
S Chikkarangappa 29 MC 24
Daan Huizing
Jose-Filipe Lima
Bryce Easton 25 14 MC 26
Tom Murray 42 MC 25
Jacques Kruyswijk 38 MC 8 MC MC MC
Pedro Figueiredo 55 58 MC MC MC MC
Calum Hill
Oliver Farr
Joel Girrbach MC
Ricardo Gouveia MC MC MC MC
Ross McGowan 4 54 31 MC
Anton Karlsson 2 MC MC 12
Marcel Schneider
Ewen Ferguson MC
Gonzalo F`dez-Castano MC Wd 44 MC MC
Jonathan Thomson
Darius Van Driel
Christofer Blomstrand
Ben Stow
Deyen Lawson 55 27 2 26 MC
Marco Iten
Max Orrin MC MC MC
Ben Evans MC MC 17 MC
David Borda MC 23 MC MC
Gavin Moynihan MC 12 MC 27
Jin Ho Choi 2 40 MC MC
Josh Geary 7 2
Adrien Saddier 27 31 55 MC
Nick Cullen 14 31 MC 24
Mathieu Fenasse
Jack Senior
Guido Migliozzi MC 63 MC MC
Christiaan Bezuidenhout 2 67 24 MC 69 MC
Per Langfors MC MC 9 MC
Hugo Leon 42 21 MC MC*
Antoine Rozner 31
Nico Geyger
Michael Hoey 47 17
Scott Fernandez MC
Matthew Nixon MC 30
Marcel Siem Wd MC
Max Schmitt MC 27 MC MC
Ryan Evans
Steven Tiley
Laurie Canter 14
Borja Virto
Emilio Cuartero Blanco
Simon Forsstrom
Gregory Bourdy 20 MC
Henric Sturehed
Sebastien Gros
Gregory Havret
Matteo Manassero 45 MC MC MC
Thomas Bjorn 42 MC MC 29 22
Chris Hanson 65
Ivan Cantero Gutierrez MC MC MC MC MC
Alexander Knappe MC
Bernd Ritthammer MC MC 34 MC MC
Pep Angles
Martin Simonsen
Lasse Jensen
Nick McCarthy
Philipp Mejow
Joseph Dean
Cormac Sharvin 31
Duncan Stewart
Matthew Jordan 34 34
Craig Ross
Kristoffer Reitan MC MC 5 MC* MC
Ugo Coussaud MC
Chris Lloyd
Hugues Joannes
Christian Braeunig
Martin Wiegele
Daniel Gavins MC MC 63 27
Filippo Bergamaschi 68 40 MC MC
Aaron Cockerill
Eduardo De La Riva
Clement Berardo
Scott Gregory MC MC MC MC
Maarten Lafeber
Jamie Abbott
David Boote
Raphael De Sousa
Espen Kofstad MC 45 MC MC*
Robin Dawson MC
Greg Snow
David Opati
Phillip Kasozi
David Cooke
Justus Madoya
Ooko Erick Obura
Jacob Okello
Edwin Mudanyi
Daniel Nduva
Bradley Mogire
Dismas Indiza
Rizwan Charania
David Wakhu
CJ Wangai
Simon Ngigi
Tony Omuli
Nelson Simwa
David Odhiambo
Mutahi Kibugu
Yan Wei Liu
Player 2016 2015 2014 2013
Erik Van Rooyen 19
Oliver Wilson 17
Romain Langasque 2
Louis De Jager 19
Sebastian Soderberg 1
Haydn Porteous 1
Stuart Manley 19
Niklas Lemke 23
Steven Brown 5
Jeff Winther 13
Daan Huizing 8 5
Jose-Filipe Lima 9 4
Ricardo Gouveia 12
Darius Van Driel 8
Max Orrin 16
Gavin Moynihan 19
Christiaan Bezuidenhout 4
Steven Tiley 15 11
Emilio Cuartero Blanco 9
Simon Forsstrom 15
Chris Hanson 23
Alexander Knappe 8
Bernd Ritthammer 3 10 7
Lasse Jensen 2
Clement Berardo 24
Maarten Lafeber 13
Espen Kofstad 4
Greg Snow 10
Dismas Indiza 13
Table Lists Players Who
Posted T-25 Finishes
At Karen Country Club
During Kenya Open on
Challenge Tour (2013-16)

Andy Swales,

Discover the latest articles

Read past articles