GolfSixes 2018: Current form guide for this week's event at the Centurion Club

Danes Lucas Bjerregaard and Thorbjorn Olesen are the defending champions at the Centurion Club
Lucas Bjerregaard and Thorbjorn Olesen hold aloft the trophy in 2017

Check out the current form of the 32 players teeing-up at the second running of the GolfSixes event in Hertfordshire. Andy Swales supplies the stats ...

"On collective current form, Sweden's Alexander Bjork and Joakim Lagergren look in fine fettle."

For the second instalment of the Golf Sixes team event in St Albans, the European Tour have spread their wings slightly, by inviting five leading players from the women's game.

All five were part of Europe's Solheim Cup team of 2017, and they will now get the opportunity to sample this innovative format which made its debut 12 months ago.

Georgia Hall and Charley Hull will make up an England Women's team, while Melissa Reid will join forces with Spain's Carlota Ciganda to form a European pairing.

The other invited player is Catriona Matthew who is one-half of a European Captains' team alongside Thomas Bjorn.

Bjorn will skipper Europe at this year's Ryder Cup in Paris, while Matthew MBE has been named captain of the Solheim Cup side for Gleneagles in 2019.

The Centurion Club

Once again, the tournament is being played over two days at The Centurion Club in Hertfordshire, offering a total prize fund of €1m, with each member of the winning two-person team receiving €100,000.

This two-day event will consist of teams going head-to-head in a series of six-hole matches.

The teams are split into four groups of four, to contest a round-robin format on Saturday.


The leading two nations from each group will qualify for the knock-out stage on Sunday, when the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final - along with a third-place play-off match - is contested.

All matches will be played over six holes, using the Greensomes format where both team members' drive, after which the best tee-shot is selected, with golfers completing the hole using the alternate shot method.

If Sunday's matches are tied after six holes, then a sudden-death play-off will be held.

As for group games on Saturday, one point is awarded for each hole won. The pair which wins the overall tie will be awarded three points, with teams given one point each for a drawn match.

When all group games are finished, the two teams with most points progress to the knock-out phase.

However, if teams are tied, then positions are decided depending on the difference between holes won and lost. If still level, then the result of head-to-head matches between teams will be used as a tie-breaker, and if this fails to resolve matters, then a sudden-death play-off will take place.

Organisers are hoping spectators will create a carnival atmosphere at this parkland venue which opened five years ago.

Olesen and Bjerregaard reigning champs

Defending champions Denmark tee-up again with the same winning partnership of Thorbjorn Olesen and Lucas Bjerregaard.

Momentum and team chemistry could be the decisive factors over such a short sprint format.

Ten of the 32 golfers taking part played in last year's event, including Thailand duo Kiradech Aphibarnrat and Thongchai Jaidee who lost in the quarter-finals after qualifying with the best record of all 16 teams.

In fact, last year, all four group winners were beaten at the first knock-out stage on Sunday.

On collective current form, Sweden's Alexander Bjork and Joakim Lagergren look in fine fettle.

Both players stood on the podium in Morocco recently, with Bjork collecting his first Tour title in China seven days later.

This year's groups are as follows


Group A: Denmark, Thailand, USA, European Women

Group B: Australia, South Korea, Spain, European Captains

Group C: France, Italy, Scotland, Ireland

Group D: England, South Africa, Sweden, England Women

MC* - Missed Additional 54-Hole Cut

Form Over Last 12 Weeks


  • 1–5
  • 6–15
  • 16–25
Player W17 W16 W15 W14 W13 W12 W11 W10 W9 W8 W7 W6
Eddie Pepperell MC MC 1 44
Matt Wallace 3 MC MC 1 19 44
Pablo Larrazabal # 27 MC 21 4 4 44
Adrian Otaegui 2 19 12 10 12
Kiradech Aphibarnrat # 45 44 5 MC 1 5 68 1
Thongchai Jaidee # MC MC 73 MC 53 51
Alexander Bjork 1 3 39 MC 19 12
Joakim Lagergren # 37 3 MC 45 MC
George Coetzee MC 4 1 8 13
Haydn Porteous MC MC 48 MC 26
Scott Jamieson 53 MC MC MC 7 61
Richie Ramsay # 32 72 MC
Thorbjorn Olesen # 37 46 MC 10
Lucas Bjerregaard # 6 MC MC MC
Wade Ormsby MC 52 25 50 26
Sam Brazel # MC MC MC 16
Paul Dunne 7 MC 2 8 5 55 MC
Gavin Moynihan MC MC MC MC MC MC MC MC
Mike Lorenzo-Vera 62 34 10 MC
Romain Wattel 56 52 19 MC
Renato Paratore # MC 61 21 MC 4 MC
Edoardo Molinari 45 MC MC 57 72 16
David Lipsky # 45 MC 67 48 77
Daniel Im MC MC MC MC 77 53
Jeunghun Wang 7 13 MC 40 MC 26
Soomin Lee 14 Dq MC 53 48 74 37
Thomas Bjorn MC 34 MC 31
Catriona Matthew 53 MC 55 MC 20 MC
Charley Hull 3 19 6 18 39 16 13 7
Georgia Hall MC 31 MC MC 48 30 13
Mel Reid MC MC MC MC 51 MC MC
Carlota Ciganda 11 12 MC MC 14 49 39 19
# (played in 2017)

Get a Free £/€20 Exchange Bet

  • Join Now - Open account using promo code VAL225
  • Bet - Place a £/€20 Bet on the Exchange
  • Earn We'll Refund You £/€20 If the Bet Loses

T&Cs apply.

Discover the latest articles

Read past articles