Corales Puntacana Resort & Club Championship 2018: Essential stats for the PGA Tour event in the Dominican Republic

Graeme McDowell: The former US Open champ plays this week in the Domincan Republic
Graeme McDowell: Now ranked world No 200, the Irishman tied-for-22nd at Bay Hill on Sunday

Check out the current form stats for this week's tournament in the Caribbean, supplied by Andy Swales...

"If this was a tennis tournament, then it’s fair to assume that Emiliano Grillo would be the top seed – going by current ranking"

The PGA Tour breaks new ground this week with a first ever tournament in the Dominican Republic.

The extravagantly named Corales Puntacana Resort & Club Championship will take place at a superb golfing location, situated at the eastern edge of this Caribbean island.

Offering, by PGA Tour standards, a modest total prize fund of $3m, the 132-player field assembled for this week's event certainly seems to lack star quality.

However, those who tee-it-up at Corales Golf Club on Thursday, will can't help but be impressed by what is likely to be one of the most stunning venues to host a professional golf tournament during 2018 - especially if the sun shines.

Situated close to Punta Cana's international airport, this low-lying and coastal course will be at the mercy of the elements, with wind expected to be a major factor over all four days.

The undulating putting surfaces will demand a sound touch, although Corales is no stranger to hosting tournament golf, having twice staged events on the Tour.

In 2016 and 2017, the winners' posted scores of 24 and 20 under par respectively, so another low-scoring competition is likely again this week.

Leading Man

If this was a tennis tournament, then it's fair to assume that Emiliano Grillo would be the top seed - going by current ranking.

The world No 75 from Argentina has, at least, posted three top-dozen finishes during the opening 11 weeks of the calendar year, including a tie-for-eighth at last month's Honda Classic.

Another golfer with respectable current form is South African Rory Sabbatini, a former multiple winner on the PGA Tour.

The biggest name taking part is 2003 US Open winner Jim Furyk. Now ranked No 181 in the world, the 47-year-old American did manage a top-10 finish on his most recent outing at Innisbrook.

Good Course Form

As for those who have previously competed at Corales during Tour events, then consider Rafael Campos and Tyler Duncan.

Both have stood on the podium here, while Campos has also enjoyed a brace of top-three finishes this season on America's second tier tour.

Irish Contingent

There is also a small Irish contingent teeing-up on Thursday. If the wind gets up, then Graeme McDowell, Paul Dunne and Seamus Power might be ready to perform.

McDowell tied-for-22nd in Orlando on Sunday, while Power enjoyed a top-10 finish at Corales two years' ago, with Dunne one of only a handful of this week's competitors ranked inside the top 100.

Another is Seung Su Han whose consistent form over the past 10 months has seen the American rise to No 85 in the World Ranking.

Since the middle of May last year Han has posted seven top-three finishes in Asia , and has also performed well on the European Tour.

Members of this week's field who have registered top-20 finishes at Corales when hosting Tour events in 2016 and 2017:

Matt Atkins - T12 (2017)
Eric Axley - T16 (2017); T19 (2016)
Rafael Campos - T3 (2017)
Joel Dahmen - T11 (2016)
Roberto Diaz - T2 (2016)
Marty Dou Ze Cheng - T16 (2017)
Tyler Duncan - T3 (2017)
Brandon Harkins - T12 (2017)
Stephan Jaeger - T11 (2016)
Nate Lashley - Won (2017)
Trey Mullinax - T11 (2016)
Augusto Nunez - 2 (2017)
Seamus Power - T7 (2016)
Sam Ryder - T12 (2017); T2 (2016)
Adam Schenk - T12 (2017)
Ethan Tracy - T16 (2017)
Kevin Tway - T11 (2016)

MC* - Missed Additional 54-Hole Cut


  • 1–5
  • 6–15
  • 16–25
Player W11 W10 W9 W8 W7 W6 W5 W4 W3 W2 W1
Emiliano Grillo 26 6 8 57 12 47
Paul Dunne 55 MC MC 19
Seung Su Han 13 4 58 29 27
Chris Wood 48 13 2 MC MC MC
Fabrizio Zanotti 45 7 60 MC 9
Scott Piercy MC 17 20 MC 6 25
Patrick Rodgers 7 59 33 26 8 MC MC Wd
David Lingmerth 64 64 MC 75 MC 57
Jim Furyk 7 46 MC
Harold Varner 78 72 60 38 MC MC MC
Kelly Kraft 31 8 63 MC MC MC MC
Robert Streb MC MC MC MC MC MC 66 MC
Rory Sabbatini 5 17 72 31 20 69 32
Brandon Harkins 36 MC 41 15 MC 12 8 25
Brice Garnett 31 MC MC 35 35 63 MC
Aaron Baddeley 49 14 55 26 MC MC
Robert Garrigus 31 MC MC 52 8 57
Graeme McDowell 22 40 MC 26 MC MC MC
Kevin Tway 58 MC MC MC 57 35 69
Alex Cejka MC 40 Wd 75 Wd MC 50
Andres Romero 65 MC
Daniel Summerhays 55 MC
Harris English 22 MC 33 MC MC 8 11 64
Abraham Ancer 16 52 MC 68 20 76 MC
Rob Oppenheim MC MC 47 MC 42 MC
Derek Fathauer MC 13 16 62 48 MC 36
Matt Jones MC MC MC 39
Martin Flores 77 74 MC 21 35 MC
Stephan Jaeger 49 MC MC 43 MC MC 54
Adam Schenk 59 29 53 MC MC MC 39
Jonathan Byrd 62 MC MC 25
Nate Lashley MC MC MC 29 39
Smylie Kaufman MC MC MC MC MC MC 69 MC
Rafael Campos MC 69 2 MC 3
Tom Lovelady MC 17 MC MC 45 29 MC
Trey Mullinax 8 47 MC 57
Sam Ryder 68 68 MC 50 58
DA Points MC MC MC MC MC 73 33
Richy Werenski MC MC MC MC MC 29 MC
JT Poston 68 73 MC
Retief Goosen MC MC 53 MC 12 20
Michael Kim MC 57 MC MC 23 50 MC
Seamus Power MC MC MC MC 11 54
Lanto Griffin MC MC 12 MC 58
Keith Mitchell MC 47 63 69 25
David Hearn MC MC MC
Geoff Ogilvy MC MC MC MC MC
Cameron Tringale MC MC 47 MC 58 MC MC
Tyler Duncan MC MC 24 MC MC MC MC MC MC
Troy Merritt MC 49 41 8 MC MC MC
Ricky Barnes 62 MC MC 20 MC
Arjun Atwal MC 34 10 47
Andrew Putnam MC MC MC 54 17 69
Shawn Stefani MC MC MC MC MC
Kyle Thompson MC MC MC MC
Johnson Wagner 55 MC MC
Marty Dou Ze Cheng MC MC 55 MC MC MC
Conrad Shindler MC MC MC MC 47
Bronson Burgoon MC 47 MC 42 MC
Zac Blair MC MC MC
Greg Chalmers MC 17 68 MC MC MC MC
Cameron Percy 39 MC MC
Ben Crane 74 MC 42
Augusto Nunez MC 29 67 19 13
Jason Gore Wd 2 39 MC
Matt Atkins 56 MC MC MC MC
Andrew Yun MC MC MC MC MC
JJ Henry 74 MC MC MC 23 MC MC
Corey Conners 16 59 MC 29 50 39
Ryan Brehm 47 46 52 MC
Roberto Diaz 39 33 MC 72 MC 47
Joel Dahmen 33 MC 55 MC MC 73
Ethan Tracy MC MC MC MC MC
Fabian Gomez 68 MC MC MC MC MC MC
Hunter Mahan MC MC MC 69 42
Steve Wheatcroft MC MC MC MC
Denny McCarthy MC 66 MC MC
Eric Axley 69 47 7 MC MC
Stuart Appleby MC 18 MC 64
Angel Cabrera Wd Wd
Davis Love 58 MC
Brett Stegmaier MC MC 57 MC
Matt Every MC 68 66 MC MC MC MC 69 75
Daniel Chopra MC MC MC
Dicky Pride 34 MC MC 16 63
Xin Jun Zhang MC MC MC 43 MC MC 25
Trevor Immelman 32 MC MC
Mike Weir MC MC MC
Robert Allenby 33 MC MC
Jason Bohn MC
John Daly MC
Brian Davis MC 20 39 68 MC
Brendon de Jonge MC MC 53
Tommy Gainey
Robert Gamez MC Wd
Tim Herron MC MC
Jonathan Kaye Dq Wd
Parker McLachlin MC 67
George McNeill MC
John Merrick MC MC MC 69 MC
Shaun Micheel MC 29 MC MC
Carl Pettersson
DJ Trahan MC
Chris Smith MC
Heath Slocum
Omar Uresti MC
Mark Wilson 66 MC MC
Ken Duke MC
Cameron Beckman MC
Steven Bowditch
Michael Bradley
John Rollins
Brendon Todd
Vince India MC MC MC
Dru Love
Tyler McCumber 4 MC* 26
Frank Lickliter MC MC MC Wd MC
Keith Clearwater
Glen Day
Ted Purdy
Brett Wetterich
Neal Lancaster
Russ Cochran
Tom Byrum
Jay Don Blake
Matt Bettencourt
Guillermo Pumarol
Marc Turnesa
Hiram Silfa MC
Julio Santos
Andrew Filbert MC
Dudley Hart
Troy Matteson
Len Mattiace
George Riley
Santiago Rivas
Zach Zaback
Richard Johnson
Rhadames Pena
Tony Romo

Get a Free £/€20 Exchange Bet

  • Join Now - Open account using promo code VAL225
  • Bet - Place a £/€20 Bet on the Exchange
  • Earn We'll Refund You £/€20 If the Bet Loses

T&Cs apply.

Discover the latest articles

Read past articles